Greensboro Politics

Keeping you up to date on what our elected officials are doing… or not doing.

Homeless in Greensboro at 20 Years Old

Posted by ryan on January 22, 2008

Note: This post may feature my opinion and is not 100% centered around Greensboro Politics.

As Greensboro argues about black books and which city employees should be fired we have homeless people (hundreds at times) sleeping on the streets each night in Greensboro. As I was pulling out of my garage last night I nearly ran over one of these individuals (he was in my blind spot as I backed out). He asked me to roll the window down, I did, and then proceeded to ask for a couple dollars so that he could stay in his room that cost $10 per night. I informed him that I did not have any cash and that I was sorry I couldn’t help him. This individual is a bit different than the average person you see walking the streets. Why? He is only 20 years old.

Before I pulled off I informed him that we have a neighborhood watch and that if any of the neighbors saw him walking behind the houses that they would likely call the police. I shared this information with him because I didn’t want him to end up in jail.

My girlfriend and I pulled off and proceeded to go eat dinner. As I drove away I looked at her and said “that breaks my freaking heart.” During dinner we talked about our encounter and I discussed some ideas on how to help the individual.

After dinner we were driving down Elm on our way home and I saw the young man again. The temperature was below freezing and I felt as though I simply had to help him. I pulled over on Washington, got out of the car (locked doors and told girlfriend to stay in the car) and backtracked to talk to the individual.

A short introduction allowed me to learn that Scott is 20 years old and is from Massachusetts. He is awaiting the arrival of his birth certificate (supposedly getting it on Wed) so that he can get an ID to stay in the shelters for free. I didn’t have a bit of cash on me so I told him to walk with me to the ATM on Green St. I know you might think I am insane for doing this… but I could not allow Scott to stay on the street. I got some cash and before I handed it over I said, “Scott, you have to understand that just like you I currently do not have a job (full-time). We all have hard times, yours are just harder than mine at the moment. If I find out you take this money and throw it away (drugs) then it will teach me to never help another person like yourself ever again.” He looked straight at me and said “I understand.”

As we walked back towards Elm I asked him if he had any interest in working and he simply said “Yes.” I will save you the details and simply say I am going to talk with some folks I know downtown and see if we can get Scott a job and help him get on his feet.

This post is completely off the cuff but it is something I wanted to bring awareness to. As you were sitting in your house last night there was a 20 year old guy that almost spent the night outside. Can you imagine that? I can’t.

I have sent an email to Bellamy Small and Wells asking them what they are currently doing for the many homeless individuals that call the streets of their district “home.”

2 Responses to “Homeless in Greensboro at 20 Years Old”

  1. Brenda Bowers said

    This boy was probably a foster child and has been homeless for two years. Most of the state’s foster programs toss kids out of the program and on the streets at age 18. If the foster parents or some good Samaritan doesn’t offer food/shelter while these kids continue to go to school then they are permanently lost. The federal government offers Pell Grants that pay full schooling cost and sometimes even gas money, but the student must have a home. These kids often get caught up in postitution in order to live. This then becomes the downward spiral that keeps them on the streets and into drugs, etc.

    So it is the Foster Care system that needs fixed whereby the state continues support for those who want and are able to continue their schooling. The state would be repaid for this relatively small investment 100 times over by having a productive tax paying citizen rather than a lifetime burden on other tax payers.

  2. As one who has been homeless… Well, thank you for doing what you can.

Leave a comment